a floral and event design studio

Costa Rica Day 2 – Pretty Houses

Yesterday we started our day at Villa Artiv, which is located on the side of a mountain inside Los Suenos resort and is one of the most incredible condos I’ve ever seen – sleek, contemporary, glass, mirrors and with a HUGE portrait of sophia loren. This place is PERFECTLY appointed – and I’m the guy who always wants to move peoples stuff around.
Our bride for Villa Artiv was Carol, who is gorgeous and happens to run a floral design studio here in Jaco. I borrowed a technique I learned from Cat and created an unusual bouquet to complement her first gown. Beth Chapman from The White Dress by the Shore dressed her in an incredible Amy Kushel. Here’s a preview of what I made her to carry with it:

Our groom, Erick

We hadn’t planned to do a tablescape in this space, but I was so awed by the attention to detail from both the architect and the designer that I just couldn’t help but throw a little something together for the dining table:

While I was playing around with the tablescape, Beth changed Carol into a sexy short gown by Jenny Yoo, which I complemented with an arm bouquet — it was strange to be working in monochromatic white while in Central America where the natural pallette is so vibrant (but that’s for another day):

We wrapped up at Artiv and Aryn, Max and I hung back while the first wave of crew headed over to our next location – we used the time to pillage the landscape for raw material. I climbed a wall and gathered some streptocarpus vine:

And Max found some trees with these green coconut-y guys:

We collected a bunch of them and I snagged the camera away from Aryn for a hot second:

For our second location, we went further up the mountain to Casa Marlin to shoot our second model, Ivonne, in an amazing gown by Augusta Jones. The location was incredible, with an infinity pool overlooking the ocean. After we photographed her in the yard, Beth even let us get the amazing gown wet in the pool! Here are Beth and DD Nickel primping Ivonne between shots.

While Carla, Sarah and Jim Altieri grab the action from the ground:

When our day was finished, we ‘borrowed’ the infinity pool for a quick dip and a glass of wine before heading back to Casa Dome for dinner and some hot-tub hopping. Here are Candice and Diana from Jubilee Events along with Magan from MMH and Beth from The White Dress.

Stay tuned for day 3 coming up!

4 responses

  1. Amy Redfield

    you know I’m totally loving that first bouquet. just fabulous. this is the first time, Ever, that the thought has even crossed my mind that I would have liked this better than the one I had at my wedding.

    November 18, 2010 at 11:26 am

  2. Tony, I am having so much fun ‘playing with you’. Your talent never ceases to amaze and inspire me!

    XO

    November 18, 2010 at 2:20 pm

  3. I love your behind the scenes so so much!
    READING RAINBOW!

    November 20, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

