a floral and event design studio

Winvian Editorial Photo Shoots, Part 1

So here is Winvian, one of the coolest places in Connecticut. We shot here twice last year, summer and fall. The summer shoot was my first time working with Jacklyn from Jagstudios, coming off a weekend of two huge weddings and working only with what was left in the cooler (and a few additions from a trip Cat made to the grocery store), We made a few things, dropped them in Jackie’s hands, drove the hour back to Middletown and crashed. Here’s what Jacklyn did with our stuff:
Cat made this entirely edible bouquet of herbs, grains and dendrobium orchids:

Look at how it moves!

This next one was a test. Well no. Not a test. Perhaps a challenge. I ran into the barn at Winvian having had maybe two hours sleep, looking a little sweaty and crazy in the eyes. Models were being primped, gowns were being steamed, I needed coffee. So I walked up to this photographer I’d only met once at a cocktail party and handed her a giant lavender egg made of flowers. Jackie looked at me like I was crazy, but I figured whatever, with those dreadlocks i knew she could handle it. I was right. I told her I thought it was a bouquet, she decided it was sculpture.

It looks great, right? But come on. Don’t you think the right bride could carry it as a bouquet? Who’s with me?

Here’s something Cat pulled together out of a grapevine ball, a few cymbidium blooms and a very happy plant. To me, it looks like it’s dancing.

Cat again: stones wrapped in copper, brussels sprouts, lychee nuts:

Crazy right?

And the last piece from our summer shoot was a little woven thing. I told Jackie I wasn’t sure what it was but that I suspected it was a hairpiece. Is this not the coolest image?

Or wait. Is this cooler? Hard to say.

Winvian autumn shoot coming next featuring shoes, a veil and the most incredible shots of our chuppah at night…

3 responses

  1. Tony and Cat it looks GREAT!!! And I love the egg bouquet! It totally rocked!

    July 19, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  2. The work is Great! Love the egg-shaped bouquet, deff a
    bo-k. Like the headpiece on model in blue chair, shows it off better.
    love looking at you guys’ work, thanks for posting.

    July 20, 2010 at 2:36 pm

  3. Kathy

    I am simply in awe of the beauty of your work. I have been designing for almost thirty years, and this is just SPECTACULAR!

    March 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Leave a Reply

